Mushroom and White Wine Pasta Sauce

This is a recipe adapted from our good friend and Matt’s old college roomate at San Francisco State, Marc.  Growing up I was lucky enough to have my Dutch Indonesian food influence from my Oma.  Everytime you entered her kitchen something was cooking and it always tasted delicious.  My own mother as well is an excellent cook.  We always ate homecooked meals every night.  However, when it was time for me to go off to college I had no idea how to cook.  I just did what everyone else my age did, had plenty of ramen noodles and boxed macaroni and cheese available.  When I transferred to SFSU it was different.  No one in my circle of friends ate crappy food.  My roommate, who has a food blog she has kept since college, was always in the kitchen cooking up amazing stir frys that smelled and tasted amazing.  My best friend Stefanie had an Italian influence in her family and could (and still can) cook a mean chicken parmesan.  Through my circle of friends, I met Marc (the creator of this pasta), and through Marc I met my husband.  I attribute so much of my love for good food and cooking to the friends I met at SF State.  This dish is a reflection of our time there.

Ingredients:

Extra Virgin Olive Oil, drizzle

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 shallot, minced

sea salt and pepper

1 box mushrooms, sliced

handful of parsley, chopped fine (you can also use Basil instead, parsley is just what I had on hand.)

1/3 cup mascarpone cheese

1/3 cup white wine (we used the famous “2 buck chuck” back then but I recommend a white wine you’d actually enjoy drinking)

1/3 cup organic marinara sauce

Drizzle some EVOO in a sauté pan, enough to coat the bottom.  Over medium high heat, throw in the minced garlic and shallot.  Saute the garlic and shallot about 30 seconds.  Add the mushrooms and saute until cooked, about 7 minutes.  Add parsley.  Add the mascarpone cheese.  Let it cook together until the cheese is all melted and it becomes creamy.  Season with salt and pepper.  Pour in white wine.  The pan will sizzle, take this opportunity to stick your nose in the aroma 🙂  Let this cook down about 3-5 minutes, stirring together.  Lastly, add the marinara.  Stir together well, the sauce should be a light orange resembling a vodka sauce.  Serve with spaghetti noodles.  Bon Apetit!

IMG_0797 IMG_0798 IMG_0799 IMG_0801

Leave a Reply

